Tags

, , , , ,

I bought myself an early Christmas present. A photo scanner. I did a test run tonight with some old family pictures.

Remember the holiday photo op during the pre-digital days? The Sylvania flash cubes and the Polaroid flashbars that would leave you seeing dots after the pic was taken? 

My dad and uncle were in charge of commemorating the occasion. Dad could never get the lighting right as he followed us around with his Super 8 movie camera. My uncle, who’d gone to Japan for vacation and snapped away with his Kodak only to return home and realize there was no film in his camera, would routinely lop off the head of the tallest person in the picture.

We could barely stand still to have our pictures taken. But looking back, I’m so glad our parents threatened and cajoled us into cooperating because these photos capture a moment in time that we’ll never have again. 

They depict the innocence of childhood. The joy of discovery. They evoke the anticipation and the magic of the holidays.

They create lifelong memories.  

This is one of my favorite pics of my sister, age three on Christmas Eve, opening a play make-up kit. The look on her face symbolizes the wonder and amazement I hope all kids experience at Christmas.

Pam Christmas

Fast forward a few decades. My sister’s kids at my house last Christmas Eve singing Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer with Santa.

So when your kids complain about the annual holiday photo session, tell them you’re preserving memories for them.

I know they’ll thank you later.

Let’s have some fun. How about posting a holiday childhood pic of yourself on your blog or FB page? I’d love to see it.

This is my last post of the twelve days of straight blogging. Many thanks to my WANA 711 buddies, Twitter and Facebook peeps, my friends and everyone else for stopping in.

