Tags

, , , , , ,

 …Six geese a laying…five golden rings…four calling birds, three French hens, two turtle doves and a partridge in a pear tree.

Every year, the holiday season bombards us with a new slew of commercials. Buy a keepsake diamond necklace for your sweetie. Heck, while you’re at it, why not buy her a car, park it on the driveway on Christmas morning. And don’t forget the giant red ribbon.

I’ve never received a car for Christmas, nor am I holding out much hope.

Remember the toy commercials on Saturdays between the cartoons? Talk about pinpointing a target market. By the time Christmas break began, I’d already memorized every toy commercial aired on televsion.

From G.I. Joe to Barbie Dream Houses. Lite Brites to Creeple People. Easy Bake Ovens (um…I still have mine), Legos, Spirographs and Chatty Cathy dolls. Mattel, Hasbro and Kenner manipulated my young mind.

Strangely enough, those toy commercials aren’t the ones that I liked the most.  Here’s a couple of my favorites. 

The strength and grace of the Anheuser-Busch Clydesdale team.

Another feel good spot.   

 

Pitchmen know how to push our buttons, and this ad that’s currently airing definitely mashes all of mine. This guy is my new t.v. boyfriend and the alpha male hero in my current manuscript. While my hero wouldn’t be caught dead in those ”trunks”, the rest of him is just fine. Ho, ho, ho, indeed. 

 

Blinded by his pearly white teeth? Compose yourself and tell me about your favorite holiday commercials. Feel free to add a link too!

This is day six of The Twelve Days of Consistent Blogging. Thanks to all of you who’ve been kind enough to drop by to “like” or comment.

