Tags

, , ,

….Five golden ringsFour calling birds, three French hens, two turtle doves and a partridge in a pear tree.

Are you a fan of holiday movies? Have you seen the classics like White Christmas with Bing Crosby? It’s a Wonderful Life or A Miracle on 34th Street? Holiday Inn?

Every time I read fellow WANA blogger Jillian Dodd’s latest movie review (Jillian Dodd – Glitter, Bliss and Perfect Chaos), I start craving Milk Duds and buttered popcorn. And I’m also reminded that I haven’t been to the theater in ages.

I’m hoping to catch The Sound of Music singalong at the Castro Theater in San Francisco this holiday season. People come dressed in costumes and the lyrics are posted on the bottom of the screen so you can sing along. It’s kind of like dressing up to see The Rocky Horror Picture Show but with a kinder, gentler audience.

http://www.castrotheatre.com/singalongs.html

I do watch movies occasionally, and holiday flicks with their underlying themes of lonely souls, romance and the sappy, happily-ever-after endings are as hard to resist as a shoe sale at Nordstrom. 

Here’s a short list of my faves:

1. Home Alone   The sub plot with the old, grizzled neighbor does something to me. Adore Kevin’s house…that gorgeous center hall colonial.

2. The Holiday   Okay, aside from the eye candy house in L.A. and the quaint cottage in the U.K., I loved this movie, especially Eli Wallach’s character. And Jude Law looks good in a scarf.

3. Christmas in Connecticut   I’m referring to the 1945 version with Barbara Stanwyck. Miss Stanwyck is a food writer who’s expected to put on a  big spread for the holidays. There’s only one problem. She can’t cook. This appeals to the Martha Stewart in moi.

4. A Charlie Brown Christmas   ‘Nuff said.

I could go on and on, but I’d rather hear about yours.

