Tags

, ,

…A partridge in a pear tree.

I dug through my CD collection looking for my holiday music.

I love Christmas music. My parents used to play Mitch Miller’s holiday album on the hi-fi. I think that’s why I know all the words to the Christmas classics.

“Jingle Bell Rock” always makes me want to sing along. It’s great cookie baking music. Nat King Cole’s “The Christmas Song” makes me want to roast chestnuts. I’ve only had roasted chestnuts once and living in California, I can only roast over an open fire on designated burn days.

I love Karen Carpenter’s rendition of “Ave Maria”.

And I adore Alvin and the Chipmunks singing “Christmas Don’t Be Late”.  AAALVIIIN!

I’ve worked in retail during the holidays. Corporate would send an approved holiday CD for our store to play over the PA system. The songs were deemed politically correct, that is no religious references, no grandmothers being run over by reindeer. 

These approved songs had a category all its own: Holiday Muzak, which reminded me of the Mantovani 8-track tapes my dad used to play (torture for young ears) but with references to St. Nick, reindeer and hot toddies. Yeesh.

So, what holiday songs, if any, puts you in the mood?

