I believe bad writing takes as much effort as writing well.

I’ve stuffed a lot of revised chapters into the shredder. I feel terrible about wasting paper and even worse about wasting words. 

I belong to a Yahoo group called Club 100 Writers. The idea is to write every day…100 words a day for 100 consecutive days. I joined fifty days ago and I’ve been posting my daily word count on the site.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Club100writers/promote

A hundred words a day doesn’t sound like much, but when I’ve spent most of the day working on revisions and my brain is fried, it’s tough to come up with a paragraph. Something that’s not just a hundred words on a page. 

Late last night, my crit partner, Carrie, emailed me something she’d written in an attempt to work toward her 100 word goal. It was 0130 CST.  This is what happens when exhaustion sets in. Your fingers tap out a hilarious gem.

For so long, he’d buried his hurt deep in the crevices of his heart, and Glinda was the golden shovel trying to dig the clods free.

(Thank you, Carrie, for allowing me to use this jewel.)

I’m a night owl. I write best after ten p.m. I had a sore back last night and was unable to sleep so I tried to make some headway on a chapter I’ve been working on. As you can see, it wasn’t worth the effort. 

He wasn’t sure if it was his violation of her personal space or the impact of  the back of her head slamming into the paper towel dispenser that accounted for the astonished look on her face. Her lips parted not in invitation but in protest. Determined to cut the momentary tension between them, he slanted his head and kissed her.  A muffled groan emanated from her throat as her hands clutched his shoulders. Unsure of her intent, he deepened the kiss until he felt point of her shoe impale his shin.

Lips parted. Slanted. Emanated. Deepened.

Sheesh! How many love scenes have you read that include these words? Too many, right?  I was too tired to click on Thesaurus.com. There’s no emotion. Zero sensory.  This passage was deleted the first thing this morning. At least Carrie’s sentence, written during her last waning moments of lucidity, was funny. Mine was just bad, though probably not bad enough to garner an honorable mention in the annual Bulwer-Lytton Fiction Contest.  🙂

http://www.bulwer-lytton.com/   Where “WWW” means Wretched Writers Welcome

Okay, here’s more contest stuff. Scott Eagan of The Greyhaus Agency is sponsoring a fun contest in October. 

http://greyhausagency.com/Alien-Vampire-Bunny-Contest.html

One of my crit partners sent me her entry which made me grin all night. She’s written a heroine you want to root for. One who prefers furry over smooth.  Best of luck, Becke!

