Tags

, , , , , ,

As of ten minutes ago, the Lotto Mega Millions jackpot stood at $640 million dollars. People have spent in excess of $1.5 billion so far in hopes of owning that winning ticket.

It’s rather mind boggling if you think about it. Six numbers could change your life.

Years ago, I worked with a man who won $1 million on the Big Spin. It couldn’t have happened to a nicer guy. Charlie worked nights as a billing clerk. He had eight kids. After his televised appearance, he began getting calls from people he hadn’t heard from in years. No surprise there. The net amount of the winnings was enough for him to retire and put his kids through college.

In Taiwan, lottery numbers are printed on sales receipts. Drawings are held every two months. The Taiwanese government came up with this idea in order to keep retail outlets honest. Customers want a chance of winning the lottery so they’re likely to ask for a receipt. This means sales transactions stay on the books. 

I’m not really a gambler. I like to shoot craps whenever I’m in Las Vegas. (Craps has the best odds in the house.) I did buy five tickets. If I won, I wouldn’t want anyone to know, assuming I didn’t have a chest grabber and keel over upon hearing the news.

I’d pay off my family’s bills. Help friends in need. Make sure everyone I knew had health insurance. Travel. Money could change my life. But I’m pretty happy with the way things are. Money won’t turn back time. Money can’t bring back the loved ones I’ve lost. Money won’t make me a better writer. 

I’m a true believer in karma. If you don’t give back, karma will bite you in the ass. Money would give me the power to help others. And hopefully change their lives for the better.  

If you won, would you tell anyone? What would you do with your winnings? Would having so much money change your life?

